The Technological Life

Oh technology, how I both love you and hate you. Let me count a few of the ways.

I love how you and Waze help make my commute a little less painful. I love how you and Uber make it so easy to hail and pay for a ride. I love how I can snap a photo and quickly share it with whomever I choose. I love how I can create and share playlists with friends on Spotify. There is probably an app for almost anything tangible your heart could possibly desire.

But despite all of the conveniences technology brings to my life, it worries me that I feel lost and get nervous when I don’t have my phone with me. I hate it when I walk Tucker and people I pass on the sidewalk are staring down and typing away, not interacting at all with the world around them. I hate how technology perpetuates our fast paced, “I want it now” society. These days the world is at our fingertips and we expect quick results, immediate answers. I think it is so sad when I see a family out at a restaurant and all of the children have tablets in front of them.

When I saw this video recently I knew immediately that I wanted to share it and write a blog post about it. It gets the message across perfectly and I tear up every time I watch it. Trust me, this 5 minute video could change our life. It is called Look Up.

Have you ever felt sometimes that life is passing you by? I have said in previous posts that this life we have is short and precious. Spend time with those you love. Play a board game or cards or just sit and have a chat. We don’t need technology to have fun and connect with others. Show our young ones what it is like to have a family meal at the dinner table. Tell them stories from your childhood when you would play outside from dawn ‘til dusk. Teach them that it is normal and okay to look a stranger in the eye and say hello. I could go on, but I think you get the picture.

These days I try hard not to let technology rule my every move. I put my phone on airplane mode when I sleep (yes, the alarm still works folks). I always have my phone on silent so I don’t have the desire to reach for it every time it dings and buzzes. I don’t bring it with me when I walk Tucker. When I get home from work in the evenings my phone goes on my nightstand and I don’t look at it again until right before I go to sleep. I no longer check my email every hour on the hour. The world will not fall apart if I don’t respond for a little while.

What is the role of technology in your life? How often to you check your email or Facebook? I encourage you this holiday season to slow down, put the phone away for a little while and create some homegrown, technology-free fun. And now that you’ve read this post (and shared it with others!), put your computer away and go do something that doesn’t involve your tv, phone or tablet. I personally am off to whip up my pumpkin granola (recipe here!), hummus and bison chili and will round out my afternoon with some time on my yoga mat.

Peace, love and veggies

The Yogi~Foodie

Leave a Reply

