Thoughts for the New Year

10847881_10152797199500971_5514113491095730040_n

Happy New Year everyone! I love the fresh start that a new year promises. As many of you know, I love to try new things, change it up, and begin something new. It probably comes from moving around every few years as a child. I was constantly forced to start over. Of course it is never easy and I tend to take on a few of these types of projects at once, but I think that is part of my nature. This past year I went back to school for health coaching, started this blog, began building the foundations of a possible future business of my own and got a new job. I was pretty busy!

Despite all of these positive things, there were some down times as well, which I think is par for the course in the path of life. Life isn’t always going to be all fun and games 100% of the time. The downs can be significant, life defining even. And what matters is how you handle them. I try to learn from them and recognize that they happen for a reason and will shape me into the person that I am meant to be. It’s not an easy perspective to take while you are in the thick of things, but it’s an important one. But enough looking back… Onward and upward!

I have never really been one for resolutions. Ever since I had a resolution to learn the complete dance to Thriller (which definitely did not happen, though I do know parts of it…), I have decided that resolutions are just not for me. They seem too clear-cut and final, inflexible and unchanging, only leading to some future disappointment for my inability to “follow through.” So this year I decided to make a list of focus points for 2015. Advice or gentle reminders that I’d like to try to keep in mind, if you will.

  • Have compassion for myself in addition to others.  Don’t try to be or look like someone you aren’t supposed to be.
  • Appreciate my body and how it supports me every day.
  • Pay attention to the signs my body is giving me. When it is tired, rest, and when it wants to dance, shake your booty.
  • Practice self-care, every day.
  • You don’t have to be perfect to be happy, successful and content. You just have to work hard and try your best.
  • Never let anyone make you feel like you are not good enough.
  • Every day is a new day, a new opportunity.
  • Who cares what others think. Be your true self. Anyone who is not okay with that is not worth your time.
  • You will never get anywhere comparing yourself to others and living a life that isn’t in line with who you are.
  • Embrace new opportunities and don’t let fear get in the way of your dreams.
  • Anger and negativity create bad energy. Try to understand the reason for your feelings and find a peaceful resolution.
  • Regret is a waste of time. You can’t relive the past so get over it and move on.

I always start each year with a vengeance, excited for new possibilities. Usually this excitement fades as I inevitably fall into my old routine. But this year I am going to try to approach things differently. This year I have a milestone birthday, which is really reminding me that life is short and should be lived to the fullest. So let’s bring on the fun and adventure. Carpe diem folks.

Peace, love and new beginnings,

The Yogi~Foodie

2 thoughts on “Thoughts for the New Year

Leave a Reply

