Self Love

This week’s blog post is inspired by the beautiful Laura LaBeau over at Soulfully Fed LLC, who wrote an inspirational post on her blog this week about women and empowerment. It struck a cord with me because I struggle with the same things she describes myself. For years I have compared myself to others and found myself wanting. I have, and many days still do, put myself down for my size, how much bigger I feel my legs are than the “normal woman”, how I am almost 30 and still single. I can always find something critical to say. Something clearly must be wrong with me because I haven’t met someone, right? Wrong.

I believe that the greatest love of all is the love we have for ourselves. After all, how can we truly accept the love of someone else if we don’t feel the same way inside? Over the past year I have been slowly working on this and learning to truly accept ec8445362ee8eec0a460a4cbc68cf512myself just the way that I am, regardless of size, relationship status, number of friends, how much cheese I eat, or whether or not I go out on a Saturday night. Changing a pattern of thinking that has been an unwelcome part of my daily life for the past 10-15 years is a daily, almost hourly, thing. I use essential oils and positive affirmations. Use techniques to shift energetic blockages and negative emotions. I try to tame the “negative Nancy” who always decides to make an appearance when I’m in front of the mirror. I try to take comments I see on Facebook with a grain of salt, reminding myself that people often only post about the positive things in their lives. I tell myself that I am on my own path and that everything I deserve in life is coming to me in its own time. But it’s hard. Really, really hard.

My heart aches when I think about how I treat myself. What I say to myself sometimes when I get dressed in the morning, after I eat a slice too many of pizza or an extra piece of bread. I would never, ever treat another human being with the same amount of criticism. And that’s what it all comes down to. My parents always told me to treat others how you would like to be treated. Well, it’s time to turn those words of wisdom inward. Treat yourself with the same amount of respect and love that you show to the most special people in your life. We only get one shot at this life, only one body to work with. And I sure as hec would rather break bread over a delicious meal with people I love than not let myself eat cheese or bread or meat for fear of how it will make me look. I’ve done the restrictive eating thing and it is not sustainable in a normal, happy life. The key is finding your balance.

I know I am not alone in this struggle. I hear women complain about their bodies daily. It saddens me that, as a society, we are obsessed with looking a certain way and having this “ideal” life. Young girls are exposed to this stuff every day on the Internet, on TV, and from images plastered on magazines they see on shelves at the market. The age when girls start to worry about how they look keeps getting younger and younger. It’s time we recognized this and started doing something about it. Teaching our daughters, sisters, nieces, friends, and cousins that everyone is beautiful just the way they are. You don’t have to look a certain way to be happy and find love, and often those people we inspire to be in magazines are often not happy and don’t have the “perfect” life we think they do anyways.

As a health coach, I want to share my story and my struggles with women and work together with them to find their flow, their own place of love and happiness. It’s not one size fits all. We are all built differently and are meant to live a life that is unique to us. Everyone has their own journey in this life to discover and make their own. Yeah, I’m not perfect and I love sugar like everyone else, but who wants a perfect coach anyway? 🙂

The lovely Laura LaBeau from Soulfully Fed LLC also nominated this blog for a Liebster Blog Award. There are a few things involved with being nominated for this award, including answering questions and sharing random facts about myself (I’m bending the rules a bit… sorry Laura!). As I am choosing this week’s post to bare my soul, I thought it would be a great opportunity for my readers to learn a little bit more about me. Enjoy and thanks Laura!!

  1. What did you do on the happiest day of your life? Two days come out on top as the happiest days of my life. They are the day I met my puppy Tucker when he was about 6 weeks old and the day I brought him home for the first time. He turns 5 in March and I can’t believe how fast the time has gone. IMG_0637
  1. Where were you and what were you doing on 9/11? I walked into my 11th grade history class when I first saw smoke coming from the Twin Towers. We watched live as they crashed and as a plane flew into the Pentagon. As I lived less than 20 miles from the Pentagon, it was pretty scary. My dad was actually there that day at a meeting, which I didn’t know at the time. Thankfully he was on the opposite side of the building.
  1. What’s your favorite quote? “The greatest thing you’ll ever learn is just to love and be loved in return” from Moulin Rouge
  1. What are you most afraid of? That I will be alone forever
  1. If you could give advice to your 15 year-old self, what would it be? Don’t waste your time comparing yourself to others, you are perfect just the way you are. And pursue a career your really, truly love from the bottom of your heart.
  1. What’s the best thing about yourself? My laugh
  1. What’s the dumbest thing you’ve ever done but had fun doing it? I think many a night from college fall into this category…
  1. Where did you grow up? I moved a lot when I was younger since my father was in the Navy. I spent most of my childhood in Virginia Beach and the Northern Virginia area. I graduated from high school in Northern Virginia, so consider myself from there.
  1. What do you do for a living? I’m an accountant and aspiring health coach
  1. What is your favorite hobby? I have a few, but lately my favorite hobby is writing
  1. What makes you creative? I never thought of myself as creative until I started this blog. Writing and cooking are my creative outlets.

11 random facts about yours truly:

  1. I have two different colored eyes
  2. I write right handed but play all sports left handed
  3. My go-to drink at Starbucks is a Café Americano with half and half, no sugar
  4. I would choose public transportation any day over driving (I’m a city girl, no suburbs for me)
  5. My favorite city on the planet is London, San Francisco is a close second
  6. My current food obsession is cheese
  7. If I went back to university I would probably become a physical therapist
  8. I secretly wish I knew how to ski (and was good at it)
  9. My current cocktail of choice is a Moscow Mule
  10. If I could travel anywhere in the world right now I would go to Australia and New Zealand
  11. I played soccer for about 20 years and also played in college, but these days prefer individual sports such as running, biking and yoga

Peace, love, and happiness,

The Yogi~Foodie

6 thoughts on “Self Love

  1. this is awesome, Anna… Thank you for your vulnerability. I will check out Laura and her blog and maybe I’ll “play” too. I actually wrote a blog touching on this vein (What If This is as Good as it Gets, Parts 1 &2) and empathize completely with the sadness I feel when I think of how I’ve treated myself… Your beauty TOTALLY shines through :-)!

    Like

  2. Good stuff Anna! Consider picking up “Radical Acceptance” by Tara Brack–a very good book on this topic that would be a good one to refer clients to! Happy Saturday to you

    Like

Leave a Reply

