10 Simple Ways to Spring Clean Your Living Space

As I mentioned in my recent post on Celebrating Spring, the change in seasons from cold to warm is a perfect time for a good, thorough cleaning.  It helps to wash away the cobwebs and dust that may have gathered over the winter and, energetically, it helps us to open up and embrace the change of season and new possibilities that it may bring.  Below are my top 10 spring cleaning tips, so turn up your favorite tunes and have a little cleaning party.  It is always a bit easier if we make it a little fun.  🙂

Living Space

Breathe_15ml1.  Fresh Air:  The air gets stagnant in our homes and apartments during the winter.  Spring is the ideal time to open the windows to let in some fresh air before it gets too hot and humid outside and we are forced to turn on the air conditioning.  Opening the windows may be tough for those of you who suffer from seasonal allergies.  A natural way to help combat this issue is essential oils, such as doTERRA’s respiratory blend Breathe.  For more information on Breathe and how it may help you, go here.

2.  Get Some Green:  Plants are great to have in your home.  Not only do they serve as a decoration, but they also help refresh the air by taking in carbon dioxide and releasing oxygen.  A few plants that are known to be the top natural air purifiers are spider plants, Boston fern, palm trees, English ivy, peace lily, and golden pathos.  Don’t worry if yo2015-04-24 19.20.53u don’t have a green thumb, many of these plants are pretty tough to kill as long as you wanter them once a week or so.  Google these guys to see what they look like and hit up your local nursery for some greenery!

3.  Air Filters:  Do you remember the last time you checked your air filters?  Changing your air filters regularly is important for your health and can also help you save money in energy bills.  Filters in your home usually should be replaced every 1 to 3 months, but check the product information on your filters for the manufacturer’s suggested frequency of change.

4.  Fresh Flowers:  Nothing can liven up a living space and boost your energy like fresh flowers.  A bouquet never fails to make me smile.  Treat yourself today and get an arrangement for your table or counter.  It doesn’t have the break the bank!  My favorite flowers that I like to keep around are daisies, tulips and sunflowers.

OnGuard_15ml5.  Surfaces:  A good way to clear away the grit and grime of winter is to wipe down your surfaces.  Counters, windowsills, book shelves, TV stands, dressers, mirrors and windows.  So grab that wood polish and window cleaner and go for it!  For my counters, I love to use essential oils with water to clean, specifically doTERRA’s On Guard protective blend.  This is especially important for my kitchen counters where I prepare my food. I avoid any products that aren’t pure, natural or good for the body.  A few drops on a wet cloth will do the trick.  For more information about On Guard and how you can use it, go here.

Kitchen

I don’t know about you, but I spend a lot of time in my kitchen, yet it is probably one part of my house that I clean the least apart from wiping down my counters, stovetop and sink.

6.  Oven:  When was the last time you cleaned your oven?  Most ovens these days are self-cleaning, so switch on the clean setting and let it go.  The entire process takes about 3-4 hours.  It will get hot in your kitchen and may smell a little so if you can, open a window or turn on a fan.

7.  Pantry:  An organized pantry makes cooking easier and faster.  Plus, you are more likely to use everything you buy.  How does your pantry look these days?  Is it disheveled or nice and tidy?  I am the type who likes things organized and in their place, but I know not everyone works that way.  Find a system that works for you.  Take everything out and wipe down the shelves.  Go through your items and toss anything that is no longer good (maybe that old, opened box of crackers?).  Re-organize and put your items back into the pantry.  I love to use mason jars for storage of bulk items.  Glass jars also help to keep grains from going bad.

8.  Refrigerator:  I love to clean but this is one that I avoid like the plague.  I’m sure you probably agree with me!  I don’t keep much more than a week’s worth of food in my fridge, plus a few condiments, but many families have fridges that are chock full of things.  What does your fridge look like?  Do you have something moldy lurking in the way back that you forgot about or condiments that are way past their expiration date?  I’m vowing to give my fridge a thorough cleaning sometime over the next few weeks.

Bedroom

9.  Closets and Dressers:  We tend to hold onto clothes from our past, even if it is something we haven’t worn in years.  Maybe it has sentimental value or we secretly want to be able to fit into it again someday (I have a pair of jeans like this).  The best way to completely and thoroughly review your clothes is to take everything out of your closets and dressers and go through it piece by piece.  Put things in Keep, Donate or Sell piles.  As you go through each item, be honest with yourself.  Does this item still serve you?  Don’t let your brain take over, go with your gut.  Are you making excuses for why you should keep it?  That’s normally a sign that it’s got to go.

10.  Bedding:  I love the feel of clean sheets and make a point to wash them weekly.  But how often do you wash or switch out your bedspread?  I celebrate spring by changing out my duvet cover from a dark wintry color to a lighter spring color.

Peace, love and happy cleaning!

The Yogi~Foodie

Leave a Reply

