The Pursuit of Joy

2015-12-24 15.02.50

Have you ever pursued something so doggedly and it seems to stay just out of reach?  You try so hard to achieve your goal or fulfill your desire, yet you just can’t seem to get any closer. Sometimes you feel that the harder you try, the more elusive it becomes…

I certainly know that feeling!  Whether it was a dream job or just some sign that I was headed in the right direction, it always seemed like what I wished would rarely come to fruition.  It was frustrating, to say the least.

But as with everything, maybe a shift in perspective is all that we truly need.  Maybe we already have exactly what we have been looking for, but we just need to open our eyes wide enough to see.  Maybe all we need to do is simply start appreciating the good things we already have in our lives.

We live in a society that constantly wants to be better, faster, healthier, fitter, skinnier, richer, more successful.  The list goes on and on…  Rarely do we (and I am talking about the general trend of our society at large here) take a step back and really appreciate what we’ve already got.  Instead of going out to buy the next best thing, how about we try to use what we’ve already got? 

What a novel idea.

I heard recently that the pursuit of joy will never lead to joy.  That if you want to truly experience joy in your life, don’t actually pursue it.  This intrigued me and made me think about all of the times I have actively pursued happiness and joy in my life.  Did they actually lead to joy?  When I started to think back, I realized that most of the time the answer was no.

When we pursue joy (or anything else really) we become self focused.  Narrow minded.  We become so set on this one desire, to have joy in our lives, that we don’t see the everyday things around us that can provide that joy.  If only we would just alter slightly the way we think about our everyday lives.  Shift our perspective just a little bit…

There is a theory called the law of attraction.  Its basic premise is that like attracts like.  What you give, you will eventually receive.  Using this principle in our pursuit for joy, maybe all we need to do is give love and joy to others and the Universe will bring joy into our lives.

Maybe the key in finding joy is surrender.  Letting go a little on our desire and focusing instead on what we already have and working to cultivate joy in the life of those we love.  I have found that when I take this path in my life, I end up feeling a happiness and fulfillment beyond what I could possibly have originally imagined.

So this holiday season, spread joy and love and hugs and happiness.  Give these things to those you love and I am willing to bet that a feeling of joy will come back to you twofold.

Give it a shot.  I doubt you will be disappointed.  You may also make someone’s day.  How awesome would that be?

Happy Holidays to you and yours.  Thank you for a wonderful 2015 for The Yogi~Foodie.  I cannot wait to see what 2016 will bring!!

Peace, love and joy,

The Yogi~Foodie

Leave a Reply

