Setbacks

2774118392_3b85110a7a_o

Setbacks are a doozy.  Whether it is related to a goal you’ve set, a project you are working on or your health, getting slammed with a setback, especially one you don’t expect, hurts. It’s like a punch in the gut.  And when setbacks happen, it is really easy to get stuck in that negative mindset, let them take over and derail what you were trying to accomplish to begin with.

I got dealt with a setback of my own this week related to my health.  I’ve discussed my journey with thyroid disease and hormone imbalance on this blog a little bit before, but for those of you who are new to my story, I was diagnosed with hypothyroidism (an under active thyroid gland) and a hormone imbalance about four years ago.  Since then I have been working to get better through medication, lifestyle modifications, exercise and eating a really clean diet.

Things had gotten better.  My thyroid started working normally again and my hormone levels crept back up to where they should be for a women my age.  But recently I’ve been feeling a little off and it was confirmed this week when I got the results of my most recent lab test.  After all of my hard work, my numbers have dropped below normal again.

It is frustrating to say the least, especially when the cause of this drop cannot easily be determined.  I want yell and scream and cry and be furious at the injustice of it all.  And while I think honoring these emotions and letting them out is important, I don’t want them to define me.  Most of all, I don’t want to lose hope.  The hope that I can someday get better and that everything will be okay.

To me, it’s what we do after setbacks that really matter.  I refuse to let this derail the positive changes I have put forth in my life.  I refuse to let it drag down my hope and faith of a better, healthier tomorrow.  These issues will not define who I am as a person and what I can bring to this world.  If anything, I can bring more to the world as I share my experiences and what I learn with you.

My body is trying to tell me something and I am going to take the time to listen.  Too often we go through life not realizing something is wrong or straight up refusing to listen because we don’t have time or don’t want to face the scariness of what it could be.  But eventually our bodies will always make us listen and usually when that happens it’s not pretty.

I have so much to be thankful for in life and I know there are people out there who are struggling with illness a lot more serious than mine.  I have loved ones that support me, a job, a roof over my head in a safe neighborhood and healthy food to eat.  That is a lot more than many people in this world.  

If you have experienced a setback recently don’t lose hope.  Keep fighting the fight, don’t stop believing.  Regroup, set a new course and have faith that it will all be okay.

Peace, love and hope,

The Yogi~Foodie

Photo credit:  CC image courtesy of jamesmellor on flickr

Leave a Reply

