A Vision for Life

IMG_0958

Do you have a vision for how you want to live your life?  

Are you living each and every day in pursuit of that vision?

I know, I know, pretty heavy questions there.  But they are important because we don’t want to have any regrets in our lives, right?  I’m sure you all are in agreement with me in that you want to live life to the fullest and be the healthiest person that you can be so that you can enjoy said life.

Many people, myself included, tend to avoid hard questions such as those above.  The ones that make you really look at your life and the direction in which it is headed.  We are scared of the answers that we may find.  We are scared that we may want something different than what we currently have.  Scared that we will have no idea how to get where we want to be, or even where to start.  Scared of change, trying something new, going out on a limb, taking a chance.

I will be the first one to admit that I am scared of all of those things.  

But think of it this way…  What would your life be like without a vision?  The words lost and on a small boat in the middle of some fog come to mind.  How would you know which direction to steer to get where you are meant to be?  You wouldn’t.  You’d be on a boat without a paddle.  Yeah, you might make some decisions that move you in the right direction, but in the grand scheme of things, would you really be moving toward that vision? And could you get there sooner if you had something to guide you?

I watched a short video this week at work about how a vision is like an internal compass, constantly guiding you along in the direction you are meant to go in.  Setting goals that are in line with this vision can help to propel you closer to what you desire.  Think of these goals as wind in your sails.  Without them, you wouldn’t really move very fast.

I’ve been contemplating the vision of my life a lot recently.  I’m just touching the surface of it but really want to dive deep and think about the two questions I posed above.  I think they are so important.  I do know a few things…  I know that there are some things in my life that aren’t in line with my vision and I know that I want to be an entrepreneur in the health and wellness field.  But when I think too deeply about these things I don’t even know where to begin to try and tackle them.  I get overwhelmed with all the questions that pop into my Type-A brain.  Fear then rears its ugly head.

I’ve been writing on this blog for a few years now and while I love it, I want to develop this into something more.  I want my passion for holistic health, nutrition and wholesome living to be what I do every day.  Yeah, getting there will not be easy, but also continuing to do what I’m currently doing isn’t going to get me there either.  So time to take some steps…

Here’s what I’m going to do.  First, I’m going to make a vision board.  Get a big piece of posterboard and sift through magazines, cutting out photos that appeal to me and the vision I have for my life.  This includes home, relationships, health, activities, where I live, career.  I’m a visual person, so for me, having it all in front of me in picture form will really help propel me forward.

After this is complete, I’m going to make concrete goals that are in line with my vision. Like I said above, having goals that are in line with your vision or dream will be the wind in your sails.  I’ve been throwing a lot of ideas around in my head of what I want to do with my business, but right now it’s all abstract.  Floating around in my head like a rudderless boat.  I need to pick which ones are best for me and figure out a plan to achieve them.

And those are just goals for my career.  That’s what we talk about most; how we are going to get to the next level, get that raise and become more successful.  But I think life goals are just as important.  What good does a high-paying job do if you are miserable?  To live a balanced life we also need to take into account our home, who we spend our time with, what we do every day and how we take care of ourselves.

Lots to consider, but I am chucking my friends Overwhelmed and Fear at the door and moving forward.  Starting with my vision board and taking it one goal at a time.

What about you?  Are you living a life that is in pursuit of your vision?  Are your goals in line with this vision?  I encourage you to take some time this week to really think about the vision you have for your life.

Leave a Reply

