Pumpkin + Banana, Almond Butter & Maca Smoothie

2923292850_3b6004c0eb_o

I have a little confession to make…  I have been really resisting the onset of Fall. Yes, it is my favorite season and the trees around my home turn into breathtaking colors. Yes, pumpkins and squash (some of my favorite veggies) are all around. Yes, I do enjoy a little cooler of weather and how I can break out my boots and sweaters again.  In the past I have welcomed Fall with open arms, but not so much this year.

The truth is, I am dreading the winter.  The snow and ice and numerous days of too little sunlight.  My body doesn’t like it too much and every year I wonder how many more times I can put myself (and my poor little dog) through it.  Poor Fall and all its gloriousness has taken the brunt of this dread.  I’ve been looking too far into the future and it has been preventing me from enjoying my present.  Sounds a lot like what I’ve been writing about recently!

This wonderful smoothie recipe is a remix on an earlier one I’ve posted (see the original here!).  It has helped me to embrace the onset of Fall while also holding onto the Summer a little bit.  The only new ingredient?  Pumpkin of course!  A little canned pumpkin takes this smoothie to a whole new level, so I hope you give it a try.

Here are a few facts that make pumpkin a nutritional powerhouse and great addition to your morning routine:

  1. 1 cup contains more than 200% of your recommended daily intake of vitamin A, which aids in vision.
  2. Pumpkins are high in fiber, with 3 grams in 1 cup.  This will help keep you fuller longer and stave off the need for snacks between meals.
  3. Pumpkins are high in the cancer fighting antioxidant beta-carotene, which gives it its orange color.  These carotenoids fight free radicals which may cause cancer and also help keep your skin wrinkle-free.
  4. Thought bananas were high in potassium?  Try pumpkin!  1 cup contains 564 milligrams compared to a banana’s 422.  Potassium helps the body to restore electrolytes after a tough workout and keeps your muscles functioning at the top of their game.
  5. Pumpkins are a great source of vitamin C.  1 cup contains 11 milligrams, which is about 20% of a woman’s recommended daily intake of 60 milligrams (recommendation for men is 75).

This smoothie is great for breakfast or post-workout and can be taken with you on the go.

Pumpkin + Banana, Almond Butter and Maca Smoothie

serves 1

  • 1/2 canned pumpkin
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened hemp milk (unsweetened almond milk would work too)
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 tbsp cacao nibs
  • 1/2 tbsp maca powder
  • 1 banana (I prefer to use frozen bananas as they make the smoothie cooler without having to use ice, which dilutes the flavor.  If you choose to use a banana that has been frozen, let it sit for 5 minutes or so before trying to peel it.)
  • 1 tbsp natural almond butter (i.e. the kind without added sugar)
  • dash (or two) of cinnamon

Combine ingredients and blend thoroughly.  Add more liquid as needed to achieve your desired consistency.  Enjoy the pumpkin-y goodness!

Peace, love and smoothies,

The Yogi~Foodie

CC image used above courtesy of frankieleon on flickr

Leave a comment